Luanda / Angola, 27 - 31 July 2020
Luanda / Angola, 27 - 31 July 2020

Facebook Like

Third conference

The third conference of the AAWG entitled « Women, Geosciences & Development » was organized in El Jadida (Morocco)


It was noted that during the geological meetings, the participation of women geoscientists was very limited. In order to encourage them to attend conferences, a decision was taken to form an Association. In 1995, and during the Geological Society of Africa (GSAf) Conference in Nairobi, the Association of African Women Geoscientists (AAWG) which believes that the involvement of women in research is a key point to help Africa solve its socio-economical problems was created. The main objective of this association is to provide a forum for discussion and dissemination of information and cooperation between women geoscientists, organization and socio-economical stakeholders engaged in African geosciences. Building on this, the AAWG decided to hold its first international meeting in 2002 for the purpose of exchanging ideas, discussing results and encouraging women geoscientists from all over the world to present their work at scientific meetings. The first Conference was initiated in Cape Town in South Africa (2002) and the second was organized in Kampala in Uganda (2004).
It is a great honour for the Geology Department of the Faculty of Sciences of the Chouaïb Doukkali University (El Jadida, Morocco) to participate to this dynamic by hosting the 3rd Conference of the Association of African Women geoscientists which is organised eve of the International Year of Planet Earth proclaimed for 2008 by the United Nations General Assembly. This year which is a joint initiative of the International Union of Geological Sciences (IUGS) and UNESCO, will be the central year in a Planet Earth triennium that will begin in January 2007 and end in December 2009. This third conference will be attended by more than 150 CAAWG attracts earth scientists. Participants originate predominantly from the African countries, but include also scientists from Europe, Asia and America.
This scientific event comprises, two days pre-conference workshop on the environmental remote sensing ; three days of technical sessions and five days post-conference field trip trough the Moroccan orogenies. The presence of the Minister of National Education and Scientific Research and the Minister of Energy and Mines during the CAAWG opening ceremony clearly indicates the great importance that is given to this event by the Moroccan authorities at the highest level. We are honoured by the presence of the International Union of Geological Sciences “IUGS” bureau members, for the first time in Morocco. UNESCO, ICSU, AUF & IUGS which have funded this Conference, deserve a great deal of credit and thanks for their generous and continued support for science based programmes, but more specifically for targeting women advancement in science, which is of vital importance to the developing countries.

The third Conference of Association of African Women Geoscientists is promoted locally by the Abda-Doukkala Region, LAFARGE, ONHYM, MANAGEM, PIZZORNO, OCP which are gratefully acknowledged for their financial support. The Ministry of Energy and Mines is thanked for providing us with a special volume of “Notes et Mémoires du Service Géologique du Maroc”. We would like to thank the OCP and the “Marrakech Mines Institute” for their contribution in the organisation of the Post-Conference Field trip. Finally, the Centre of Study and Research of the Moroccan-Portuguese Patrimony is thanked for accepting to guide the El Jadida and Azemmour visit.
The members of the organizing committee, the administrative staff from our institution and the colleague of the Geology Department are gratefully acknowledged for their assistance during the period of the preparation of this scientific event. During this event, Morocco and specially the Abda-Doukkala region will provide you with an active and pleasant stay.

Please download the report of the CAAWG3

CAAWG3 report

Ezzoura Errami Chairperson of the Conference


Yahia Boughaleb Dean of the Faculty of Sciences


Mohammed Kouam President of the University

For more information, please download Abstracts proceeding